The Crap From the 80s

Flush that self-help down the toilet.

Cindy de Villiers
6 min readFeb 14, 2021
Photo by Sam Moqadam on Unsplash

Today, I found myself again trying to undo the crap from the 80s. Really, what did happen in that decade?

I can forgive the big hair, shoulder pads, and dubious tastes in music. However, the years I spent spreading margarine, steaming skinless chicken breasts, and applying sunscreen are harder to reconcile. How much destruction of coral am I to blame for?

Self-help was newly minted. Eat six times per day, never get hungry and remember to power dress. Just take the pill. We trusted pharmaceuticals in those days. We trusted doctors too. And so I power dressed, took the pill and, became a doctor.

I was well on the way to becoming an obese, frustrated Gen-Xer, mindlessly going through the motions and the flow-charts of Family Medicine. Thankfully, life-events prompted me into questioning the prevailing wisdom. After much time and money spent on courses, fellowships, and Pubmed, I pulled the chain.

My practice now focuses on Personalized and Functional Medicine. It is a relief to be free from the 80s medical dogma that still prevails. I am happier, leaner, fitter, and stronger than ever.

Below is what I tell my patients now.

Bathe

--

--

Cindy de Villiers

Practicing Functional MD developing a diagnostic and treatment online platform, incorporating wearables and AI. Always questioning.